Reflections on 2017


As December beckons, I always begin to think back about the year that has just passed and will soon be over. Many people do this year after year; they reflect on the things that have happened that are positive, think about the negative and try to make plans for the following year. I try to do this each year although often I make these reflections personal and so I do not blog or write about them. This year is a little different as I feel I would like to put some of these thought down within a blog post. Therefore, here goes:-

Moving schools – in January 2016 I moved school, as I needed a change. I had been at that school since 2010. I lasted 18 months at this new school and again moved on to my third school in August 2017. As December comes, I will begin my 5th month of working within my new school. I am very happy where I am now and the last 5 months have flown past! My new school has allowed me to try my hand at being a school leader. Currently I am year 5/6 phase leader and maths lead. I have thoroughly enjoyed this new found responsibility and although very tiring and hard at times, I find the role fulfilling and rewarding as you can really see how the changes you are implementing are making a change within a school setting. You can really see the changes within the education being delivered to the children. This is such an awesome experience.

House – This year my wife and I have made quite a few changes to our family home. As there are still only two of us, we have decided that we would like to get things sorted in the house before we start a family. This has been both challenging and rewarding in equal measures. Rewarding as we have seen our reasonably old house be given a new lease of life and be brought up to date. We have seen rooms change and be made beautiful. I have loved watching the rooms being transformed as the professionals have done their magic. The challenging part is the mess. We have always tried to keep the house very tidy and clean but with working happening most weekends this year, we have found this a bit of a struggle at times. We both now look forward to getting our home finished so we can continue to enjoy the house we are buying.

There are many other highlights of the year that I am grateful for but I may share them in another blog post.

Targets for next year?

  1. Take all opportunities that I believe are do-able.
  2. Make sure I have a good work/life/wife/me balance
  3. Enjoy!!

Leave a comment