Workload – What’s your view?


TeachingTeaching is a great profession. Lets first get that said and get that out there!

I cannot think of many jobs where you go and everyday is varied with completely different experience and adventures. I love my job. I love the people I work with and after almost seven years in the profession I can honestly say I have no intention of leaving. I am 29 and can see myself growing old in the profession. (NOTE: although I know my opinion can be just as fickle as education can be!!) Even if I do moan and groan quite a bit, I enjoy the job, the people and the time off!!

In contrast to this, I can completely identify with those running for the hills. I know completely where people are coming from when they say they are run off their feet due to unrealistic demands. I totally empathise with NQT and senior leaders who spend countless hours doing paperwork that never in a million years impact the children they teach.

Teaching 2So what can be done? – If anyone has any answers I would be more then happy to sponsor/go into partnership with them as I feel the solution could make us both millionaires!!

Furthermore, Looking back to my NQT year, I could not be faulted for effort; I could not be faulted for attitude and dedication, yet effort alone does not make a good teacher. This is where many go wrong. A good teacher is not judged by the length of a lesson plan. A good teacher is judged by the ethos of their classroom, the behaviour of their children and the children’s attitude. Right back to me, I spent most of my NQT year wondering if I would ever get it right. Wondering if I would ever be able to stand tall with my head held high and shout to the world “I am a good teacher”. I read, I listened, I learned from my mistakes and slowly I crafted myself into the type of teacher I’d always wanted to be. Yeah!!

Teaching 3In the years since, I have maintained the work ethic that I had in my initial year. I work hard during the school day to make sure I do not need to bring work home. Although I know this is not the case for all teachers. I often read tales of teachers who are not that lucky. They tell stories of arriving in school for 7:30am and still being their at 6pm. I cannot imagine a life like this, working 12 hours to only to be told that your best is not good enough and you are “requiring Improvements” Taking work home and spending almost every working moment engrossed in school work is not what I call sustainable. It is not want I call work. This is not ethical! This is not education!! This is not on!!!

What’s worrying here is that this is not just a one off story. Up and down the country there are hundreds of educators that are in the same position. Something has to change?

Teaching 4To end, teaching is the most wonderful profession and I absolutely love my job. I am fortunate that I work for a school that allows me to have a good work life balance. I know
this is not the case in all.

I have written a few blog posts related to this issue:-

another perspective – From: secret teacher – Life inside a primary classroom. 

Teaching is bloody great. I can think of seldom few jobs where you go to the same room, in the same building, with the same people everyday and have a completely different experience. I love my job, I love the people I work with (even the ones I probably shouldn’t) and after almost four years in the profession I can honestly say I have no intention of leaving. But I can completely identify with those running for the hills.

Workload 4On the back of my classroom door I have three class pictures. Peering into the room from behind a group of increasingly small children is the face of a rapidly aging man. I barely recognise the man in the first photo: He has spiked hair meeting in the middle like a shark fin, in a way that suggests he may just be Jedward’s older brother; his skin is tanned and smooth; his expression is a picture of youthful determination and naivety. What a difference a couple of years makes.

Looking back to that NQT year, I could not be faulted for effort, yet effort alone does not make a good teacher. I spent much of my first year hiding in my classroom hoping not to be found out, firmly clinging onto a steely determination to make myself into the best teacher I could be. I read, I listened, I learned from my mistakes and slowly I crafted myself into the type of teacher I’d always wanted to be. I put in the hours and as I did so I found my school day becoming longer and longer as I desperately tried to keep all of the plates spinning. And for that year the plates remained upright. I was the proverbial Jack of all trades, albeit master of none, yet like my plates, I was still standing.

Workload 1In the years since, I have maintained the work ethic that I had in my initial year but the energy is quickly wading. Working from 7.30 in the morning until gone 5 each evening isn’t exactly an ideal working model, particularly when you often take work home with you and leave tasks unfinished. As my capability has improved over the years, so too have my responsibilities and titles. I now find myself as the leader of a Year 2 team in a three form entry school leading five teachers, five teaching assistants and 90+ children as we desperately try to navigate our way through the stress and data a SATs year always manages to create. So too do I have the lead on Maths in the Key Stage, along with leading a literacy initiative and my duties as a school governor. Alongside this I am attempting to complete my NPQML. The plates that were once spinning nicely now wobble like a bowl of jelly as I await the crunching crash of ceramic imminently.

Tasks that once seemed relatively simple now feel like the most labouring chore: maintaining an organised classroom, marking books, planning lessons, preparing resources, evaluating work, implementing ever-changing methods of assessment. The daily grind outside of actual teaching can be tough, and may you pray to whichever deity you follow for assistance dare you skip your duty for an evening for it will build up on you quicker than the debt on a forgotten pay day loan.

Overload 3The energetic teacher from that first picture on the door has long since disappeared. In the mirror I now see a man aged beyond his young years: a size one razor taken to the entirety of his cranium in an effort to hide the rapidly emerging bald spots on the crown of his head; pasty white skin which suggests he hasn’t seen the sun in some time while dark wrinkles form under his eyelids; his expression is a picture of exasperation and exhaustion. He finishes each half-term like an extra from ‘The Walking Dead’ while his concept of quality time at home is slowly becoming falling asleep in front of the tele with his loved ones in his arms at the end of a long day.

What’s worrying here is that I’m no martyr. I am the new norm and many are doing much more than I am. This is the new expectation of an increasingly demanding profession. The powers that be seem set on implementing a system that simultaneously advocates increasing the retirement age while actively ensuring a generation of burnt out teachers. If this blog were a metaphorical plate, it crashed to the ground months ago as my most easily disposable task. Time is not a gift that is bestowed upon the new age teacher, and even during this week off I find myself cursing the headteacher for closing the school and demanding we take a break. Such demands will be completely ignored as I’ve come home with a list of things to do as long as my arm, all of which are playing catch up rather than putting down a platform for next half term and though I would normally have considered myself well organised, I know that my Easter holidays will be spent in much the same way.

USA, New Jersey, Jersey City, Business woman holding stack of documents in office

Teaching is the most wonderful profession and I absolutely love my job, but the current workload is unrealistic and unsustainable. It is no surprise that 50% head for the exit door within five years. Should we wish to retain our skilled and dedicated young teachers, we need to change the system before the plates come crashing.

Leave a Reply

