How do we control the present, let alone the future?


Importance of Control

I’ve really been aware of how important control is in my life. I have become aware that you need to gain control if you are to be happy.  Lack of control leaves me stressed, struggling to focus and unable to make good use of my time. Which makes me wonder whether this is the same for everyone, and certainly makes me wonder whether the lack of control that children find in their lives at school is having a similar effect on them. Although I do try hard to give the children I work with some control on a regular basis, most of the time is about them being controlled. Clearly a certain amount of control is essential when so many have to occupy such a small space and all would have different agendas.

I do try to give autonomy to children when I feel I can although with a class size of 30+ and the demands of the job I feel this is not always possible or feasible. I was talking to a former colleague the other day who was explaining that their school is taking a radical approach to their learning environment. They are now allowing all children (FS to Yr.6)  to choose what work they will complete within the day, how they are going to present it and when they are going to submit it. Boundaries are given although children get to chose these too sometimes. This approach gives back the control to the children.

Which method is correct?

Is there a correct way to teach? 

Could we start again please?

Would we start all over again if we have the chance? 

This made me think, if schools hadn’t been invented yet would we design our education system to be anything like it currently is.If we could design our system would it be like the one we have today?

It seems that evolutionary change is the only sensible way to get our schools to a better place for our 21st century learners, but will evolution every happen quick enough? Will i see change within my educational career?

This is the same discussion that all teachers have had for a ver long time. How can we create the school our learners need when the change to the system, buildings and professionals involved would be so great that the whole thing could come crumbling down in the attempt?

Food for thought I think?

Leave a Reply

