Not the Life of a Teacher but My Life in Teaching


In my last post I commented on the life of a teacher – See below

The life of a teacher

I thought I would elaborate on this to show not the life of a teacher BUT My life in teaching.

Monday

I get up at 5:45am just as my alarm is going off. As this is Monday morning I am not that quick out of bed. By the time I get out of bed and into the kitchen the clock reads 5:56am. I have my breakfast and get myself ready. I leave the house at 6:45am and slowly make my way to work. I arrive in work for 7.05am.

I start my day by turning on my computer, making a cup of tea and checking my email. By 8:35am I am ready for the children, who arrive at 8:45. I teach until 10:45am. During my 15-minute break I check to make sure I am ready for my 11am lesson and finish off my tea from the morning. 12:30pm, Morning lessons are over!! I have a 1-hour lunch break in which I eat, mark, talk and generally sort stuff out. During the 1-hour break, I mark one set of books from the morning, make another cup of tea and eat my lunch. The afternoon starts at 1:30pm and finished around 3:30 once all the children have been dismissed.

Tonight there is no meeting so I sit down and mark the remainder of the books from the morning lesson then start on my afternoon books. This take just under an hour so I leave my school around 4:30p. It is a 20/25-minute drive in the morning although it takes me a little longer to get home in an evening. I arrive home around 5:20pm. I get in and make a quick cup of tea and something to eat.

6pm comes around and I am out of the door again to go and teach my Taekwon-Do lesson. As some of you will know, I am also the main instructor of the Leicester Taekwon-Do academy. The lesson starts at 6:30pm and finished at 8pm. I always arrive early, as I need to make sure I am there to greet any new members and to make sure I have the equipment ready for the lesson. By the time the students have gone home and I have locked up the venue I am home around 8:30pm.

I go to bed around 10:30pm

Day 1 completed. 

Tuesday

I get up at 5:45am again, just as my alarm is going off. As this is Tuesday I am little quicker out of bed. By the time I get out of bed and into the kitchen the clock is reading 5:52am. I have my breakfast and get myself ready. I leave the house at 6:35am and make my way to work. I arrive in work for 6:55am. I am early today because I need to get quite a bit of photocopying done so I want to in and out of the reprographic room as quick as I can.

I start my day by turning on my computer, photocopying a mountain of work and making cup of tea. By 8:25 I am ready for the children, who arrive at 8:45. I teach until 10:45. I am on break duty today so I go outside with the children. The bell rings at 11am for the 2nd morning lesson to begin. 12:30pm Morning lessons are over and I have a 1-hour lunch break. During that 1 hour I mark one set of books from the morning, make another cup of tea and eat my lunch. In addition to this I go to see one of my fellow year 5 teachers to discuss something about a lesson that is happening tomorrow. The afternoon starts at 1:30pm and finished around 3:30 once all the children have been dismissed.

Tonight there is no meeting so I sit down and mark the remainder of the books from the morning lessons and make a start on the afternoon books. This takes just over an hour. Once I have done this I complete the work I started this morning and distribute it to my fellow teachers. I then go back and complete the remainder of my marking so I have no marking to complete in the morning. I leave my school around 5:40pm. It is a 20-minute drive in the morning although it takes me a little longer to get home in an evening. I arrive home around 6:30pm. I get in and start to make dinner.

After Dinner I sit and watch some TV

I finally go to bed around 10:45 once the BBC news has finished.

Day 2 completed. Yeah!!

Wednesday

I get up at 5:45am just as my alarm is going off. As this is Wednesday and I am half way through the week I get up quickly with a spring in my step. I have my breakfast and get myself ready. I leave the house at 6:50am and make my way to work. I arrive in work for 7.20am.

I start my day by turning on my computer, making cup of tea and checking my email. By 8:35 I am ready for the children who arrive at 8:45. I teach until 10:45am. During my 15-minute break I check to make sure I am ready for my 11am lesson and finish off my tea from the morning. 12:30pm; Morning lessons are over. I have a 1-hour lunch break. During that 1 hour break I mark one set of books from the morning, make another cup of tea and eat my lunch. The afternoon starts at 1:30pm and finished around 3:30, once all the children have been dismissed.

Tonight is staff meeting night. The staff meeting starts at 3:45pm. Tonight we have someone in to talk to the whole staff team. The training is good and I make a few notes about things I need to do and some notes to jog my memory. The staff meeting finishes and I leave school around 5:15pm I arrive home around 5:45pm. I get in and make a quick sandwich, as I know I have to leave soon.

6pm come around and I am out of the door again to go and teach my Taekwon-Do lesson. The lesson starts at 6:30pm and finished at 8pm so I need to be at the venue before and after to make sure everything runs smoothly. By the time the students have gone home and I have locked up the venue I am home around 8:50pm.

I eat my dinner and check my school emails. One has arrived that I need to respond to, so sit down around 9:15 to respond, By 9;30pm I am finally ready to start reading my book.

I go to bed around 10:15pm tonight, as I am tired from the Taekwon-do training

Day 3 completed. Yeah!!!

Thursday

I get up at 5:45am just as my alarm is going off. By the time I get out of bed and into the kitchen the clock is reading 5:59am. I have my breakfast and get myself ready. I leave the house at 6:45am and make my way to work. I arrive in work for 7:10am.

I start my day by turning on my computer and making cup of tea. Today I have a meeting at 11am with the Deputy Head so I have also had a conversation with our cover supervisor to make sure she is aware of the lesson I am teaching at 11am. By 8:40 I am ready for the children, who arrive at 8:45. I teach until 10:45. The bell rings at 11am for the 2nd morning lesson to begin. At 11am the meeting starts with the Deputy Head, and by 11:45am the meeting is over and return to my class. 12:30pm Morning lessons are over and I have a 1-hour lunch break. During that 1 hour I make a phone call to the local council to try and arrange an appointment to go and see them about my up coming marriage. After being on hold for 20 minutes I finally get thorough, and get my appointment booked. This has taken up most of my lunch break so I have completed no marking. The afternoon starts at 1:30pm and finished around 3:30 once all the children have been dismissed.

Tonight there is no meeting so I sit down and mark the books from the morning lessons. This takes just under 2 hours. Once I have done this I make sure I have all the resources for tomorrow and gets things ready for the Friday lessons. This takes about 30 minutes and I leave work around 6pm. I arrive home around 7:20pm as I called into the local supermarket on the way home to get some bits. I also called into another shop to pick up an order I reserved using there click and collects service.

After Dinner I sit and watch some TV.

I finally go to bed around 11:05 because I have been looking at some things linked to my up coming wedding.

Day 4 completed. Tired but completed. Yeah!!!!

Friday

I get up at 5:45am just as my alarm is going off. I have my breakfast and get myself ready. I leave the house at 6:45am and make my way to work. I arrive in work for 7:15am.

I start my day by turning on my computer, preparing my classroom and talking to the Phase leader. By 8:15 I am ready for the children, so I start to photocopy the resources for Monday’s lessons. I always like to be slightly ahead!! The children begin to arrive at 8:45am. I teach until 10:45. The bell rings at 11am for the 2nd morning lesson to begin. 12:30pm Morning lessons are over and I have a 1-hour lunch break. During that 1 hour I mark both set of books from the morning and eat my lunch. I work flat out during this lunch break, as I like to get all my marking done. I have ICT and computing in the afternoon so I know there will be little to no marking. The afternoon starts at 1:30pm and finished around 3:30 once all the children have been dismissed.

Tonight there is no meeting and no marking so I leave my school around 3:45pm. I arrive home around 4:20pm.

The weekend has arrived!!!

Day 5 completed. YEAH!!!!!

Saturday and Sunday

Saturday – I have a no work policy unless I am out on Sunday. I agree that I will have 1 day when I do not do anything linked to work.

When I work, I normally do on average 2-4 hours of preparing and looking over my plans for the following week.

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

