What’s in a picture?


Worksheets

In previous blog posts I have commented on how I have tried to cut worksheets out of my classroom.

What do teachers use them for?

Why do teachers depend oin worksheets so much?

Progress report: This is going well

The children only use worksheets as a preparing tool in my classroom, well most of the time!!.

They have questions on that they cut and stick them answer in maths. They have sheets that have questions on to consider when writing up work.

These are the only time they are used. I still photocopy quite a bit but a lot of it gets used again and again within the same week. I would guess my gross photocopying has fallen a lot since my no worksheet idea.

I had read somewhere (now forgot where!) that one of the best starter is to put a picture on the board and ask to children. They advocate this as a way of getting children to talk and as we all know talking is the basis of an outstanding lesson. They suggest questions such as these:

  • What is it?
  • What does it do?
  • Why is it here?
  • What can you see?
  • What does it make you feel like?
  • what can you tell me about it?
  • What would you do with it?
  • what could it be used for?
  • what could it be made of of?

This strategy works, I know this because I have done it, the article then suggested doing this in maths. I have to admit that I was a little sceptical: pictures in Maths.

  • How would a picture work?

So like all good ideas I need to give it a go.

Last week I put up a picture and said what can we do with this?

The first few minutes were painful, as the children didn’t fully understand what was being asked, as the answers began to come in and I was accepting all sorts, the confidence in the room increase.

I did this the following days and it work wonders

By the end of the week I was able to give the children a picture from Test base and they were able to use all their key vocabulary, that we have been discussing in class, and come up with problems for other to solve.

Idea!!

Get the children to generate the worksheet for you so you never need to have another worksheet ever!!

I know this will be being done somewhere but I love it and will be doing it again sometime.

2 thoughts on “What’s in a picture?

  1. We only use p/copies for maths q’s and for literacy texts. Apart from this our children use no w/sheets and have not in the 6 yrs I’ve been at my school.

Leave a Reply

