A story


As we arrived at the magnificent flat I feel my stomach churning with excitement. I had been waiting for this trip to happen for so many weeks. Mr Overton’s, Miss Jones’s and Miss Wright’s classes were visiting the old Wheatshef factory to see how it had changed. We had been taught how it has now been renovated into flats and that it used to be one of the biggest show factories in the world. We all got off the bus slowly and went into the flats as directed by the owner of the land.

As I entered the room I could make out some of the picture we had been shown at school. This was surreal.  I could see the light sapphire door that we had all written about in our Literacy lesson. After a few minutes we were all inside and the guided began to talk to us all about why this project was important for Leicester and how we were so lucky to be here today. The man spoke for quite some time and a few of us were beginning to get bored, so we decided that we were going to explore on our own. Gradually, we edged towards the light sapphire door, just as the group was moving away we took the opportunity and vanished. Stepping inside we found we were all alone and that the group hadn’t noticed that we had gone…

Gradually we could hear the voices of the other fade away. We waited until we could not hear them anymore then we began knew it was safe to talk. On the far side of the room we saw an old machine like the one that we have seen in out topic lesson. In our topic lesson we had been talking about child labour and how child labour affects families and loved one. I knew I shouldn’t go near it but I couldn’t help myself.

I slowly walked over to it and sat behind the machine.  I started to imitate using the machine to make socks and shoes, just like they do in the movies. In the blink of an eye the room was silent, I turned. I couldn’t see anybody. I could hear nobody. I ran to the door and opened it. There in front of mewas a full operating workshop with hundreds of machines all working. All with children operating them. It was disgusting. I tried to run but….

Without a warning a huge ghastly hand came and dragged me to one of the machines. A man with a stick told me to get on! I didn’t know what to do, so I just began to copy the person next to me. The faster they went, the fast I went and slowly I felt like I began to do it. Then I needed the toilet so I put my hand up like I had been instructed to do in class by Mr Overton.

Moments later I was being drag by my shirt across the room, I was so scared. What was happening? Why was this happening to me?  I began to cry! I knew I was in trouble and I couldn’t see how I was going to get out of it. SuddenlyI had an idea. I will try to run!

In the blink of an eye before I could run my shoe fell off and I found myself back where I had started. I rubbed my eyes. Stretched and thought. What had happened? Where had I been? Who had seen this? Was it a dream?

Soon after this I realised that I must find my teacher. So I got myself up and ran as fast as I could out of the room. Rushing forwards I ran through the door, then through another. Where was my teacher? Where were my friends? I continued to run. I stopped and seconds later a hand appeared on my shoulder.

Later that day I tried to tell my story to Mr Overton, but he was having none of it. He said that he was so worried that he had lost me that he had taken all the other children back to the school.  He then told me that Ms Virk and Miss Branson had to come to try and find me and that they too were very worried. All the teachers were very upset with me and I knew I was in trouble.

The next morning my mum came in and had a word with Mr Overton and explained what had happened. I think in the end he believe me although I know I will never do that again. I know that from now on I will listen to every instruction and that I will always stay where the adults can see me.

Leave a Reply

