Observations


Observations

I have had 3 learning walks this week and I have had 4 different people come into my room/lessons at different times looking at behaviour, learning environment and teaching. All of these people are at the head’s request to try and improve standards within the school.

  • Is this reasonable?
  • Do people mind?
  • What are people’s opinions at this many visits within the first 4 weeks?

 

To follow this I have an actual 30 minute Ofsted type observation with the Head and SIP (School Improvement Partner), next week on the Thursday then there is a maths consultant in school on Friday. Don’t think she will be visiting but that’s another advisor coming into school.

I feel all fine with this because I am quite confidence of my ability now, although the pressure cannot be good, can it?

7 thoughts on “Observations

  1. I think this is a lot of pressure. We have learning walks almost every week too. My personal view is that it can all detract from that which we are supposed to be doing, namely, teaching!

  2. We had a very similar start to last year as we were due to be inspected. I found it incredibly stressful , wanting to be ” outstanding” at all times…which is unrealistic. I took a step back, reflected and realised that trying too hard can be self destructive.We need to view lesson obs as just a snapshot, and have time to have professional dialogue about the bigger picture. I’d love to have more opportunities to be watched and towatch my colleagues. THAT will certainly raise T&L as long as the reasons are explicit..share and celebrate good practice.

    1. Thanks for your comments.

      I am glad that there are teacher’s out there that had similar events happening to them. I’d love to have more opportunities to be watched and to watch my colleagues. THAT will certainly raise T&L as long as the reasons are explicit. Share and celebrate good practice is the way to work. I would agree and I feel you need to bear in mind that expectation.

      Our head is good that she announces when she will be coming round. If is come round and she has not announced it she doesn’t really comment on what is happening in your class (I think she know we cannot work flat out for a prolonged period of time).I found it incredibly stressful , wanting to be ” outstanding” at all times…which is unrealistic.

Leave a Reply

