100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week#4


Below is this weeks “100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week#4. The poem below is called ‘The poem of nothingness’ (this poem means nothing to me, so it will mean nothing to you either I hope!!). I decided to write it in this way because I was struggling with what to write, so I did what I would do with the children,

  • I thought of lots of different words that I could use beginning with the letters of a word
  • I next formed a type of poem out of these words
  • Then use the poem create a piece of writing, although this time I haven’t  created  a piece of writing.

 

The poem of nothingness

 

Rambling as I do

I

Plucked up the courage to

Place my hand on her

Leg and immediately the film

Ended

 

Bashful

Roger wanted an

Orange in an

Octagonal

Dish

 

Everyone

Vacant the

Office because

Callum had eaten all the

Apple and

Tangerine pie.

I

Very much hope he will learn that

Every time he does this we get in trouble, I told the class.

 

Lemon

Is

Lovely in a

Tart

 

Under the

New

Train bridge live an

Orangatang

With

A

Red

Dome like nose.

 

12 thoughts on “100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week#4

  1. Very clever! I have to admit to struggling myself with this week’s but you have done really well with this! It’s good to experience what you ask the children to do I think!

  2. Fun approach to the challenge. Do you ever ask the children to do this, and then try to incorporate the meaning of the word into the poem?

    1. Sometime, although normally I just use this as a way of generating vocabulary… here’s an example

      The word is SWEET

      Sweet
      Work
      Eating
      Enormous
      Turkey

      This later became
      I was sat at work one day when I saw an enormous turkey eating a packet of sweets, at this moment I awoke to the screams of my brother…

      This was inspired by a seminar I went on with Pie Corbett and his approach of ‘Talk for Writing’

    1. Thanks, I have added an example below of how it works

      Sometime, although normally I just use this as a way of generating vocabulary… here’s an example

      The word is SWEET

      Sweet
      Work
      Eating
      Enormous
      Turkey

      This later became
      I was sat at work one day when I saw an enormous turkey eating a packet of sweets, at this moment I awoke to the screams of my brother…

      This was inspired by a seminar I went on with Pie Corbett and his approach of ‘Talk for Writing’

Leave a Reply

