Blogging


Blogging is something that many people within primary schools seem to regard as a concept that has no place. I beg to differ. I have seen from university and school alike the power a blog can have.  I have experienced firsthand the power it can have in the class room in enthusing and motivating many reluctant writers. When you look at some of the most powerful and influential educationalist within Britain today they all talk about ICT being an integral part, for me blogging is a wonderful and fantastically easy way of introducing the power of ICT to children. For me personally I see the power of ICT and blogging as a simple way of introducing writing that has both purpose and meaning. Blogging also allows there to be a focused audience which can be extended and adapted to meet the every changing needs to primary school children

Below is an example of a type of blogging that has been successful in primary school throughout England

Quad Blogging

Quad Blogging is an idea created by David Mitchell of Heathfield Primary School. It brings together classes with blogs from across the country into a ‘Quad’ over a 4 week period.

“Imagine four schools that had a partnership/agreement that would mean that for a four week cycle, each school’s blog would be the focus for one week out of four. Each school in the Quad would spend some time visiting the blog of the school for that week, leave comments etc. After that week, another one of the four schools would be the focus and this would be repeated for the four week cycle and then repeated. It wouldn’t take the pupils long to work out that in their week, they would get a boost in visitor numbers and comments. This would give a real focus to have posts online ready for this bulge in visits.”

David Mitchell from his blog here

Plan of action

My plan of action is pilot this form of blogging within the phase I work. I haven’t yet put the thought and idea forward but I feel if I push it enough then I can make something out of this. I feel strongly that this type of blogging can make a difference to the children.  I also intend to trial it with another school that we have links with so I can link with them. The intension is to become pen friend but interactively via the blog.  At this stage even if I do all the input until it is a school wide approach I am ok with this, I feel that the benefits will outweigh the extra effort and I believe it will impact in such a way that it will become a whole school effort before long.  In my school there are three classes so we could have a focus every three weeks to try and put something on the blog and this way it will not seem too much of a burden, then slowly I can try to increase the amount of times the classes’ blog etc. This way we can trail it and then try to get it to work on a whole school platform after Christmas.etc. This way we can try it and then try and get it to work on a whole school platform after Christmas.

3 thoughts on “Blogging

  1. I’ve seen some amazing progress made via class blogs particularly with children’s writing. I’d love you to join the 100 Word Challenge that I run each week. The children have a prompt of a few words or picture & then write using 100 words only. Over the 16 weeks it ran, there were 1350 entries. If you think you would like to run with this do get in touch (@theheadsoffice). You could also contact @alee11 who won a set of books £150!

    1. Hi
      Thanks for the advce. Hopefully I can have somewhere near the same impact on the children in school
      Will contact these people mentioned and see what i can do
      Thanks again!
      Mr Overton

Leave a Reply

