100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week #40


100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups

This is a weekly challenge for those who are over 16 and enjoy challenging themselves with writing. Each week you are given a prompt. It may be a few connected words, a selection of individual words or a picture.

You have 100 words (or the number that have been set for that week) plus the prompt to write a creative piece.

One of the great things about the 100WCGU is how people visit other blogs and read the entries. It is all about supporting our writing and giving constructive feedback and support. For some, it is the start of longer pieces of writing, even novels!!

Do join us and see what hidden talents you discover!

The prompt this week

Well who would have believed it! We’ve reached number 40. Do make sure you have visited the entries on Week#39 as we had some new writers join us!

The prompt for this week was easy for me to think of. It is ‘RUBY’ in celebration of our 40th week. You can do whatever you like as far as genre is concerned. The only rules are that it is only 100 words long and is suitable for a PG certificate.

RUBY

“What is it with special occasions?”  

“Diamond Jubilee!!,”

“Ruby Anniversary!!!!,”

Golden celebrations!,

Why on earth would anyone want to celebrate getting old”. I moaned in my normal way

“The honest truth is we are all just getting older… we are all just OLD!!!”

“OLD!!” I shouted

I said this out loud then turned to see what devastation it has caused!

I expected a room of people to be starting at me, I could feel their eyes eating away at my back.

I froze, should I turn round, should I just pretend I have some disorder and cannot move.

“Pardon.” Came a voice

“Ohh…”,  I turned,  “I was just say how old I feel” I stammered and stuttered. 

4 comments on “100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week #40

  1. Very nice. I do that have that word in MY vocabulary because it might make me FEEL, you know …

Leave a Reply

